About Us

About Us image of kids

Offices

The Children's Defense Fund-California was established in Northern California in 1998 to meet the needs of underserved children in the state of California.  CDF-CA's Northern California office focuses on health policy, as well as policies that impact boys of color.  Opened in 2001, the Los Angeles office is the hub for CDF-CA's programmatic and policy work in the areas of education,  youth leadership training and development, and school push-out and juvenile justice reform—particularly in Southern California.

Southern California Office

634 S. Spring St., Ste 500C
Los Angeles, CA 90014
p. (213) 355-8787
f. (213) 355-8795

Staff

Alex Johnson
Executive Director
(213) 355-8791
ajohnson@childrensdefense.org
Saira G. Soto
Program Director
(213) 355-8793
ssoto@childrensdefense.org

Michelle Newell
Senior Policy Associate
(213) 355-8790
mnewell@childrensdefense.org

Karen Frison
National Project Coordinator
(213) 225–8503
kfrison@childrensdefense.org

Angela Chung
Policy Associate
(213) 225-8505
achung@childrensdefense.org

Lorena Sanchez
Health Program Coordinator
(213) 201-0830
lsanchez@childrensdefense.org

Omar Cardenas
Youth Organizer
(213) 225-8595
ocardenas@childrensdefense.org

Angélica Salazar
Senior Policy Associate
(213) 201-0831
asalazar@childrensdefense.org

Hanif Houston
Communications Associate
(213) 201-0833
hhouston@childrensdefense.org

 

Northern California Office

2201 Broadway, Suite 815
Oakland, CA 94612
p. (510) 663-3224
f. (510) 663-1783

Staff

Allison Buist
Health Policy Director
(510) 663-3780
abuist@childrensdefense.org

Michele Stillwell-Parvensky
Senior Policy and Communications Associate
(510) 663-1294
mstillwellparvensky@childrensdefense.org
Kisha Jackson
Office Administrator
(510) 663-2984
kjackson@childrensdefense.org 
 

Office Locations


View CDF Office Locations in a larger map


ShareThis